No rest for the wicked

Routine…

The day you think kids have grown out of something, a week later, maybe a month, or a year, there they go again.  This morning there were saucepan drums and kids in my high healed shoes.  Ok, it was one kid.  The other two were too tired after getting up st 4.30 to play Lego. Don’t worry, I promptly sent them back to bed.  I can’t be sure they didn’t just wait for me to fall back to sleep then go back down.

Back to the shoes.  It only took two pairs before deciding a wedge is easier to walk in than a narrow heel.  Both pairs rather high.  I was asked, why do they say they hurt on the ads on TV?  I reply with something along the lines of they wear them all day.  With that, he manages to go down the stairs, still in the shoes, walked/ stamp loudly and oddly enough to annoy his brothers and get the dogs barking.  They are not Agressive dogs, they were just a bit freaked out by his Tina Turner impersonation.  Soon the shoes came off, and the saucepans came out.  Oh my ears!  The dogs had the right idea and went outside.  Unfortunately for me, I had lunches to make.  He played until his own ears started to hurt.

Somehow, we still managed to get out the door on time.

Each morning comes with their own challenges.  Some days it is total objection from one, two or all three. Other times it is total compliance.  I feel more uneasy with the latter to be honest.  It so rarely happens, and there is usually something lingering behind it all.  I’m sure one day they will be able to just get on with what they need to do.  We have only had the same routine for seven years. Any day now, maybe, or not.

Leave a comment